Practice Notes–Attack your Foe, not his Sword

Once again I tried to use Schielhauw, the Squinting Cut, and once again I failed. After much discussion we came the conclusion that my fundamental problem is that I was attacking the sword.

If I throw the squinting cut with a proper off-line step at his opening, one of two things will happen:

  1. He won’t react properly and I’ll land a solid blow on his arm or shoulder.
  2. He will react and move his sword into mine, ending the action like the pictures.

If I aim for his sword and he reacts, our swords will cross in the wrong place and I will neither a solid attack nor a solid defense.

Parallels in Rapier

What makes this revelation particularly annoying is that this is exactly the same lesson that I always teach novice fencers when introducing the counter-thrust. If they think about the parry, they invariably chase the sword and end up in absurdly wide guards. But if they instead concentrate on landing a good thrust to the face, the sword will naturally be in the right position to defend them. The only concern is the correct rotation of the wrist.

This entry was posted in Fencing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

