Beating vs. Slicing Off with the Rapier

Since it came up in my last post, I should talk about what I mean by “beat”. When I hear that term I think of a sharp strike that leaves the point more or less online. It is used to create a small opening that you work from.

By contrast, slicing off is an actual cut at the sword. It over binds and drives the opponents sword downward, but at the cost of your own point also moving off-line. This is quite effective for sideswords and is used a lot by Meyer, but I don’t like it for the long rapier because it takes so long to bring the point back online.

Looking at this photo, I would describe this action as slicing off, not beating.

image

This entry was posted in Arming Sword, Capoferro, Meyer's Rapier, Rapier. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Beating vs. Slicing Off with the Rapier

  1. Keigh Ahr says:

    It’s all about economy of motion, exerting only enough energy to accomplish the intended secondary action. A beat clears the opponent’s weapon long enough to execute an attack; a slice, on the other hand, leaves your weaopn in no position to execute that attack.

    • Grauenwolf says:

      While I agree in principle, slicing off occurs enough in Meyer that I want to learn more about it.

Leave a Reply

